Battles of the English Civil War

This database is not restricted to East Anglia; by sliding the map around you can see 174 sites across the British Isles where battles were fought during the English Civil War and in the Interregnum, the period including what we know as the Commonwealth and the two Protectorates.

There were three principal periods of war, the First Civil War from 1642 to 1646, which concluded with the defeat of King Charles I at the battle of Naseby and his giving himself up to the Scots. The Second Civil War refers to the period 1647-48, when there were various uprisings, and the Third Civil War to 1650-51 when the son of Charles I sought to take back power.

Click on a marker to find more detail about that particular battle; the text is shown below the map.

DBMAP(battle,250,52.3286254884302,0.15380859375,6,English Civil War)